Eggless Tea Cake With Tutti Frutti n Raisins

Recipe Source – MasterChef winner Nikita on her IG handle – theveggiefix

20200423_235709....

I had bought lots of tutti frutti to bake my eggless, non-alcohol Christmas cake for my vegetarian and Muslim friends. The fruits for my alcohol cake soak in advance for about 6 months or more. But for the non alcoholic cake, I soak it in apple juice just 1 day before baking. But this year, due to health issues, I didn’t bake any cake especially since we flew to India on an emergency. Point is, I had lots of tutti frutti lying around.

Was wondering what to do with it when I thought of making a tutti frutti cake. As luck would have it, I saw Master Chef Nikita post a recipe of an eggless tea cake with black and gold raisins.

So I just modified it to add the tutti frutti too.

Honestly, I liked the cake on day 1 but it wasn’t good enough to blog about it. The husband and the older son liked it a lot. But I wasn’t convinced enough, maybe because I had put too much of tutti frutti. But on Day 2…. the cake just developed its taste and it really was soo good. Hence it finds its way to the blog.

Surely the next time I bake this cake, I’ll try it without the tutti frutii and only put black raisins, not even gold ones. Maybe then my younger one who’s not a fan of tutti frutti will eat too. And also, I can see if the cake tastes better than the tutti frutti version of mine.

So if you like tutti frutti, do try this cake. and make sure to save some for the next day.. because you’ll enjoy it even more. Obviously you could add only raisins and try it too.

20200423_23573800000

EGGLESS TEA CAKE WITH TUTTI FRUTTI N RAISINS

Ingredients

Butter – 60 gms , softened
Caster sugar – 120 gms
Milk – 1 cup, room temp
lemon juice  – 1 tsp
Vanilla essence – 1 tsp
All purpose flour – 210 gms
Baking powder – 3/4 tsp
Baking soda – 1/4 tsp
salt – 1/4 tsp
black n gold raisins, tutti frutti – 100 gms tossed in 1/4 tsp flour

Method

Preheat the oven to 175 C. Butter n put parchment paper on your 8 inch round spring form tin.

Mix the milk and lemon juice together to get buttermilk sorts. Keep it aside.
Sift together the flour, baking powder, soda, salt in a bowl. Keep it aside.

Beat together butter and caster sugar until it is almost white and fluffy. Mix in the butter lemon mix. Mix on low speed. The mixture will look completely split. But that’s how it is. Keep going. Add the vanilla essence too.

Now slowly add few spoons at a time of the flour mix to the wet ingredients and fold it in. Beat on low speed to remove all lumps.

Fold in the dry fruits.

Slowly add the batter into the prepared tin.

Bake for 30-40 mins till a toothpick when inserted in the middle comes out clean. Let it cool and then cut it into desired number of pieces and enjoy.

Cheers

R!

This entry was posted in Baked Goodies, Cakes, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.