Black-eyed Yellow Beans Stir Fry

The other day while I was chatting to my sister-in-law (hi L!), she was telling me that her mother makes amazing black-eyed yellow beans. And I had never seen or eaten them before, that I had to actually google it to know what it looked like :-). Anyway, few days later, I went to my local pulses and spice seller, and asked him for the yellow beans and happily got home a packet.

Soaked the beans in water that night and next day morning when I was all ready to cook, I realised I had no recipe. Totally disheartened because I knew both my SIL and her mom were at work and thought there’s just no way I can get the recipe now. But tried my luck…pinged my SIL and she immediately asked her mom and within 5 minutes, I had received a mail :-). Just the other day when I met aunty…she was telling me how busy she was at work, when her daughter called her and said she wanted the recipe immediately. And that’s how aunty lwithin minutes sent me the recipe. Thankyou so much aunty and thankyou L 🙂

So this recipe has been slightly adapted and hope you like it, just like how we did.

BLACK-EYED YELLOW BEANS STIR FRY

Ingredients

  • Black-eyed beans – 250 grams (soak it in water for a couple of hours or overnight)
  • Ginger – a small piece
  • Garlic – 3 cloves
  • Fennel seeds – ½ teaspoon
  • Dry Red chilli – 1
  • Chilli powder – 1 teaspoon
  • Turmeric powder – 1/4 teaspoon
  • Black pepper powder – 1/2 teaspoon
  • Salt to taste
  • Water , to boil the beans

To temper

  • Shallots – 8-10 sliced ( or you could  even use 1 Onion, sliced really fine)
  • Curry leaves – a few
  • Mustard seeds – 1/2 teaspoon
  • Asafetida powder –  a pinch
  • Chilli powder – 1/2 teaspoon
  • Oil

Method

Using a mortar and pestle, crush the ginger, garlic, fennel seeds and the dry red chilli.

Now, cook the pre-soaked beans in water, along with all of the 1st set of ingredients – crushed spices, chilli powder, turmeric, pepper powder and salt. (For 2 cups of beans, you’ll probably need about a cup of water and let the beans cook and the water be completely absorbed).

Now to temper – Heat oil in a frying pan and splutter mustard seeds. To this add the onions and let it get a slight golden color.. Then add the curry leaves, asafoetida powder and chilli powder. 

To this add the boiled beans and stir fry it on medium heat for another 5 minutes or till you get the desired level of how crunchy you want your beans to be. ( Don’t add water here to make it moist, but add oil).

Serve as a side dish with rice, Kanji, or even Chapathi.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Legumes and Pulses, Side dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Black-eyed Yellow Beans Stir Fry

  1. Nice healthy and protein packed dish…

  2. sonia says:

    Hi There, This is looking absolutely delightful. Have a great day !!!

  3. nisha says:

    i am wondering what you had that with..puttu???
    I agree about the networked blogs thingy but then i have to still do the job of inviting everyone right??? lazy for that 🙂

  4. Sanjeeta kk says:

    A protein packed meal I would love to snack upon anytime.

  5. Padhu says:

    Look so tempting

  6. Padhu says:

    Looks so tempting

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.