Eggless No Bake Blueberry Cheesecake

Eggless No Bake Blueberry Cheesecake

Blueberry Cheesecake3I made this delicious cheesecake for my 2nd son’s 2nd birthday in June…yea I know it was quite a few months back and I’m blogging about it now :-|. Well, what can I say? Atleast the same year I could write about it ;-).

Blueberry Cheesecake4This cheesecake turned out fabulous and I should have ideally posted it immediately to share it with all you wonderful people. But then, I got busy. Shopping and packing for our close to 2 months stay /vacation in India. And then we got back and again I got busy – unpacking, cooking, getting back to schedule, homeworks….you know the drill. I’ve got lot of posts pending in my drafts, much much older to this one. But since this is like really to die for… I had to give it top priority!

Blueberry Cheesecake

Back to the birthday – I really didn’t want to do a normal birthday cake. I mean this was my chance to experiment something new. And so took advantage of it. My parents and brother n family also joined us to celebrate his birthday and they all loved the cheesecake. Everyone went for 2nds n 3rds. I wasn’t even sure if anyone wld have any lunch after this.

Blueberry Cheesecake6

Blueberry Cheesecake7

Blueberry Cheesecake8

I have 2 neighbors with teenage kids and they all love the cakes, cheesecakes and other sweets I make. I almost everytime send a little of what I make to them. Four main reasons why I send it to them – I love those kids, I get an unbiased true opinion, we don’t put on that much more weight by eating and finishing it all by ourselves, and most importantly, I get to bake, make n experiment more sweets n desserts more often. Anyway all the 5 kids loved it so much that they have been pestering their mothers to learn the recipe. I promised them I would write it down soon and send the link.

The recipe is adapted from Food Diaries – a Pakistani TV show hosted by Zarnak Sidhwa on Masala TV

Blueberry Cheesecake2Ingredients For Blueberry Cheese Cake:

For Base

  • Crushed tea time biscuits (Marie or digestive) – 2 cups
  • Melted butter – 3 tablespoon

For Filling:

  • Kiri cheese – 5-6 cubes
  • Cream cheese – 2 cups
  • Gelatin – 2 tablespoon
  • Milk – 1/4 cup
  • Caster sugar – 3/4 cups
  • Vanilla essence – 1 teaspoon
  • Cream – 2 cups
  • Purple food color – a few drops (can put 1/4 tsp but not more)

For Topping:

  • Blueberry pie filling – 1 cup
  • Whipped cream – 1 cup

Method:

Prepare the Base –

  • Take any non-cream tea time biscuits and powder it. Mix with the melted butter and spread evenly on the base of a greased 9″ spring form tin. Press down well and freeze till set or else blind bake @ 180C for 10 mins. I blind baked. Let it cool if baked.

Prepare the Filling –

  • Soak 2 tablespoon gelatin in 1/4 cup milk, till it swells up. Cook this on low flame till the gelatin dissolves. It shouldn’t boil at all. Keep aside to cool.
  • Meanwhile, in a bowl beat Cream cheese, kiri cubes and castor sugar until smooth with no lumps.
  • Add in the vanilla essence, the cooled gelatin and purple food colour if using.
  • Lastly fold in the cream to mix well and pour over the biscuit base.  Refrigerate 6-8 hours covered in cling wrap, so that it sets.

Prepare the Topping –

  • Once set, remove the springform tin from the sides, pipe whipped cream on the top edges to give it a border and put your Blueberry Pie filling in the center.
  • Refrigerate till its time to serve.

Blueberry Cheesecake

Note:

  1. Any non cream plain tea time biscuit will do. But I prefer Digestive/ Graham crackers.
  2. Gelatin if it boils, loses its setting capability and your cheesecake will not set. So better to throw the gelatin and redo that step again.
  3. Cream cheese – do NOT use the bottled cream cheese as they are salty. Use Philadelphia/Puck cream cheese that you get in tubs.
  4. For the cream, again I prefer to use the tetra pack cream over fresh dairy cream. You can never go wrong with it. I used Puck Thick Cream.
  5. Always keep the whipped cream carton in the refrigerator. Only before whipping, take it out. It’ll whip faster and hold shape. Keep back in the fridge if you’re not going to use immediately. I used Puck Whipping cream.
  6. Ideally you need Blueberry Pie filling that comes in cans. But if you can’t find that, then you could take tinned blueberries and cook it in a saucepan with 1 tablespoon cornflour to thicken the filling.

Blueberry Cheesecake1

Cheers

Renee

This entry was posted in Desserts and Sweets, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eggless No Bake Blueberry Cheesecake

  1. Looks really nice!!can i be your neigbour!!

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.

