Palak Gosht – Aromatic Lamb curry with Spinach

This post has been lying in my drafts since months…yep, since September!! The main reason was because the pics were taken in a hurry and in artificial light… it didn’t turn out even half as what I expected. The husband had already lost out on his patience cos we were late for dinner, and so I didn’t even get a chance to see what I clicked until the dish was completely wiped clean. I kept this amazing recipe on hold, thinking I’ll post it as soon as I got pictures that did it some justice. Hardly I knew what was in store for me the next few months, then. Now forget taking pictures, I haven’t made meat itself in a long time. 😦

So here I’m posting this recipe, with a promise good pictures will follow soon.  Now about this dish.

Palak Gosht is a wonderfully aromatic curry especially for those who love both lamb and spinach. And when these two come together in one dish, it’s marriage made in heaven (my husband’s words!)

This is a wonderfully fragrant curry, which is cooked slowly to allow the lamb to tenderise and the sauce to thicken nicely. It’s a dish that improves with being made ahead, adding the spinach after reheating the lamb and sauce.

palak-gosht3

Straight off to the recipe:

PALAK GOSHT

Ingredients

  • Lamb – 750 grams ( I chose a leg piece and got it cut into small pieces)
  • Spinach – 2 bunches
  • Cumin seeds – 1 teaspoon
  • Bay leaves – 2
  • Green cardamoms – 3
  • Cinnamon – 1 inch stick
  • Cloves 2-3
  • Black peppercorns – 3-4 slightly crushed
  • Green chillies – 3-4 slit length wise
  • Onions – 5, chopped
  • Ginger-garlic paste – 1 tablespoon
  • Tomato – 1, chopped
  • Red chilli powder – 1 tablespoon
  • Turmeric powder – 1/4 teaspoon
  • Garam Masala – 1/2 teaspoon
  • Coriander powder – 2 teaspoons
  • Yoghurt – 1/2 cup
  • Potatoes – 1, cubed and partially boiled (optional)
  • Salt to taste
  • Oil

Method

Cut and discard the thick stems of the spinach and wash the leaves real well. Boil the leaves in salted water along with a pinch of turmeric, for about 2-3 minutes. Drain well and blend these leaves along with green chillies in a blender to make a paste.

Meanwhile, heat oil in a thick-bottomed pan or you could even use a pressure cooker. Add cumin seeds, cloves, cardamom, bay leaves, cinnamon and crushed pepper corns. Saute till cumin seeds turn brown

Now, add the chopped onions and cook translucent. Add ginger-garlic paste and chopped tomatoes. Saute again till the tomatoes are mushy.

Next add the spice powders – red chilli powder, coriander powder, tumeric and garam masala. Saute again.

At this stage, add the lamb pieces to the onion masala mixture and let the juices get all seared by cooking it on high flame for about 3-4 minutes. Add water, salt and once it boils, lower the flame and cook covered for about an hour or till the meat’s all tender. If you’re using a pressure cooker, let it cook for 3 whistles on high flame, then reduce it to low and let it cook for another 15 minutes.

Once the meat is tender and cooked, add the potatoes (if using) and spinach paste and cook again for another couple of minutes. Add salt and water accordingly.

Turn off the flame, and add thick yoghurt to it. If you don’t mind the calories, you could even add cream or coconut milk.

Garnish with some fresh cream before serving.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Mutton / Lamb Recipes, North Indian Dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Palak Gosht – Aromatic Lamb curry with Spinach

  1. princy says:

    Nice yummy gravy.

  2. Biny Anoop says:

    wow renee …i love this and it really looks temptg…here too sometimes my hubby loose patience…there are no words just looks then..;)why dont you send in this for my black pepper event on my blog…..enjoy dear….

  3. biny anoop says:

    Hey renee dat was chili chicken with the methi chappathi…sorry for ans late…was busy with a course…all the best to u…prayers and hugs
    Biny

  4. Saffi says:

    I followed your recipe step by step but it turned out to be a dark green colour

    • Renée says:

      hey hanifa thankyou for trying the recipe. The reason it turned out darker cld be b’cos you wld have put the spinach in boiling water for long. Spinach gets wilted and loses its color very fast. So ofcourse, the resulting gravy you make out of this dark wilted spinach wld also be dark. What I wld suggest is boil the spinach only for a minute or 2 and then immediately put it in ice cold water. This will stop the cooking immediately and retain the green color. You cld do this even for peas.

  5. Katherine says:

    Hi Renee – I’m hosting a dinner party and am wondering how many your recipe serves. Also, how much coconut milk should I add? And last question, what type of vegetable would go well as a side dish for this meal – I’m thinking something green like bok choy…but I would love a recommendation. Thank you!

    • Renée says:

      Hi Katherine…I’m glad you chose my recipe for your dinner party. In this recipe I’ve used only about 750 grams..n that should be sufficient for a group of 3 with medium appetite. Like I always say, it all depends on the appetite of the people eating, also on what the curry is served with – as in if it’s served with rice obviously you’ll need more compared to it being served with assorted breads like nan, chapathi…and also it depends on how many other side dishes do you plan to serve with this. So I would think for a group of 4 with a medium appetite, about 1 Kilo of meat should be really enough provided there are other sides. For the sides, bok choy is a good option, you could also roast potatoes and omit it totally from the above dish…or in my house the side dish is always fresh cut salad – lettuce, cucumbers, carrots, tomatoes n little boiled chickpeas all dressed together in salt, pepper and lime juice. That’s the favourite here. Sometimes, if I feel my guests might find the curry spicy, I opt for a raita – that’s cucumbers, carrots, tomatoes, little cilantro leaves all chopped n mixed with yoghurt n salt.
      If you’re adding coconut milk, you shdn’t add more than 1/2 cup. You don’t want your curry to be runny. You could even omit the yoghurt n add only the coconut milk and cream (about 2 tbsp.). This will make the gravy a little more milder while the yoghurt makes it slightly tangy. Hope I’ve been able to clear your doubts. All the best and hope you n your guests like it. 🙂

      • Katherine says:

        Thanks for your recommendations. A few more questions. How much water are you supposed to add before you cook the meat for an hour? Also, I will have kosher guests so I would like to omit the dairy (yogurt and cream) and use only coconut milk. Do you think it will be ok if I use 1/2 cup of coconut milk at the very end instead of dairy? And finally, what type of rice would you recommend I serve it with – basmati or rice pilaf? Thank you!

      • Renée says:

        Just enough water to cover the meat if it’s in a pressure cooker. And yes, you can omit the dairy and add 1/2 cup thick coconut milk. Serve it with basmati and it’ll taste much better…coconut milk and basmati rice go well with each other.

  6. Well done Renee, I have been searching the internet for Palak Gosht recipe that would be easily demonstrated and equally delicious, It is my 1st time making this dish so I am very glad to find your post, well organized, easy to follow and sounds/looks yums.

  7. Jamey77 says:

    Was the best curry I ever tasted til I added the spinach part. Will try without spinach and with coconut milk next time. Many thanks.

    • Renée says:

      Hi Jamey… Glad you liked it till you added Spinach. You can cook it till there and call the dish “mutton in coconut milk|. 🙂 Well, I would think Spinach is an acquired taste. Either you like it or you don’t. I never liked it in any form before marriage. And now over the years, I seem to have acquired a liking for it. And thankyou so much for your feedback. There’s other mutton recipes on the blog that doesn’t have spinach it. Do have a look and let me know.

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.

