Rava Ladoos

Diwali, the “festival of lights” is round the corner and though I’m a Christian and don’t exactly celebrate it…..I love the festival for different reasons – Bollywood Movie releases, good movies on Indian channels, boxes of sweets I used to get from work, sweets from friends and neighbours…and when in Mumbai you NEED to add to all this the joy of seeing  firecrackers burst, lights, decorations, streets and shops filled with mithai-waalas (sweet vendors) selling delicious sweets loaded with sugar and ghee (no diet pls!)and all cloth and jewellery stores unveil their dazzling Diwali collections. And

And which of you would you say no to a box of sweet like these??

I know there’s couple of more days for Diwali but then  in the blog world, everyone has already started posting sweets/desserts and snacks. So how could I be left behind. More over, there’s no point putting in a recipe of a Diwali sweet after Diwali…right?? I mean you could use it for next year.. but then what do you do for this year??

Also, I wanted to make a fresh contribution to the Indus Ladies event, that I had blogged about here. but then what to make, I wondered. And immediately I thought of Ladoos. The most common Indian sweet/dessert. It’s available at any store any time of the day and any day of the year. And so many varieties of them.

Now that I knew I wanted to make Ladoos, I was totally confused about which one to make. I was debating between Rava(Semolina) Ladoos and Coconut Ladoos. Unable to decide, I asked my DH-R and he immediately said Rava. I was praying that he’d say Coconut (ya I was kinda tilted to coconut). NO luck on that. He goes on to say he doesn’t like coconut too much in sweets. Hmmmm…there ends my hope of making coconut ladoos some day.

But then who’s the cook? ME! So I made Rava ladoos with a dash of coconut in it. And guess what…he loved it. He took the 1st bite and said…. “I’m surprised that inspite of you putting coconut in these ladoos, I love it.” He went on to say…” I hope you remember exactly what and how much you’ve added because the method and measurement is very important when making a sweet.”

Wow! So much knowledge.!??! I was shocked. Well, the change in him was obviously expected having married me – the experimental cook! 🙂

And as for my pre-schooler….he ate 4 of these ladoos in one sitting…and like a stuck tape-recorder kept saying “amma fantastic”, “amazing”, “awesome”…and said thankyou like 100 times to me. 🙂 He even took a couple to school the next day and was super happy that I put it in there.. It’s got nuts, coconuts, rava/semolina….all mixed together with tons of love!

I was telling my cousin too that the ladoos were really good. And that’s a big deal coming from my mouth. Normally, you never hear me do self praise of any dish of mine, until and unless I’m in love with it 100% and thought it couldn’t get better by the smallest percent. And this was just one of them.

What more proof do you want?

Here’s what I did to make these delicious Rava ladoos.

RAVA LADOOS
yield: 18-20 ladoos

Ingredients

  • Rava – 1 cup
  • Ghee – 2 tablespoons (you could use even unsalted butter)
  • Desiccated Coconut – 3/4th  cup
  • Sugar – 3/4th cup (Add more if you need more sweetness)
  • Evaporated Milk – 75 ml
  • Cardamom Powder – 1 teaspoon
  • Saffron – 1 pinch put in hot milk for some time
  • Raisins – 1/4th cup
  • Nuts – 1/2 cup ( I mixed almonds, cashews and pistachios…you could even use walnuts)

Method

Melt the ghee in a non-stick pan on medium heat and roast the raisins for a minute till they puff up. Remove with a slotted spoon.

In the same ghee, fry the nuts till golden brown and remove these too. Transfer these nuts to a chopping board and coarsely chop them.

Now in that same ghee, fry the rava/semolina gently till golden brown and till you get a fragrant roasted rava aroma. The color will change slightly and also it won’t taste raw.

Add the desiccated coconut and sugar and mix welon low heat till the sugar dissolves.

Now add the raisins, nuts, saffron and cardamom powder and mix well.

Add the evaporated milk and mix for a minute till the whole mixture is combined well. At this stage you can taste check for sugar and add more to meet the desired level.

Turn off the flame immediately and let it cool slightly. When warm enough to handle, make small golf ball size of the mixture.

Your Rava Ladoos are ready to eat.

Pack them into cute boxes like these and there can’t be a better gift to give your friends and family this Diwali.

NOTE:

  1. You could use fresh grated coconut but dry roast them till they lose its moisture and dries up. Ensure they don’t change color too much.
  2. towards the end if you find it difficult to make balls of them, it’s because the mix has lost a bit of its moisture. No worries. Just add a few drops of evaporated milk and it’ll bind as easy as ever. 🙂
  3. Let the ladoos cool completely before storing them in an airtight container.
  4. If stored in the fridge they’ll last for 3-4 days. Or store in freezer and it’ll stay fresh  for a month.

And a final pic…. I just couldn’t resist!!!

Hope you make these Rava Ladoos soon and wishing you all a Happy Diwali!

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Desserts and Sweets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rava Ladoos

  1. Pingback: 100 Yummy Diwali Sweet Recipes – Ebook! | Renée's Recipe

  2. lovely ladoos…coconut really!that would be a distinctive taste 🙂

  3. Biny Anoop says:

    wow renee i love rava and besan laadoos…u have explained very well….and adding coconut will surely give it a wonderful taste…love the mithai box…very elegant dear….

  4. Reva says:

    Love the recipe and the presentation is too good..:) No wonder your family enjoyed these dumplings immensely..:) Wonderful post dear..:)
    Reva

  5. seejarajan says:

    awesome.. keep updated

  6. Renée says:

    thankyou so much. It really was delicious! 🙂

  7. tina says:

    lovely rava ladoo…yummy..

  8. Sarah says:

    that box of sweets look really tempting!

  9. Shashwati says:

    Wow! Your ladoos look delicious and awesome. I have never tried rava ladoos so far. I would love to try this out.

    I have a clarification. Please tell me at what stage do you add the ghee roasted rava that has been kept aside to the final mixture of sugar and coconut. I am not clear on that part in the recipe.

    Thanks 🙂

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.

