Blueberry Coffee Cake

Couple of months back, I had bought a can of Blueberry Pie filling. Why? Beats me! 😛 I’m pretty sure I read a recipe online or saw some cookery show on TV that used these fillings and I wanted to experiment cooking the dish at home, and hence bought it.

That can went straight into my baking items shelf, only to totally forget about it, untill few days back when I bought more baking stuff and there was no place to fit them all in. 

Clearing and sorting the shelf brought my attention to this can and for the life of me I couldn’t recall for what I bought it. Searched my bookmarked recipes, my handwritten notes…nope, nothing! Zilch!

Although the can wouldn’t expire for another 2 years, I still wanted to use it immediately and thereby make space for more stuff. 🙂

My 1st thought was to make pies….but honestly I’m a little skeptical of baking a pie crust from scratch and so gave up that idea. My next thought was to make muffins…. but then these weren’t just whole blueberries. It was a pie filling with some blueberry puree and some whole blueberries…..more fit for pies or even to make jams. Adding them to make muffins wasn’t such a good idea I thought, because the puree would increase the liquid to dry ratio and affect the end product. Moreover, this can was the 600 grams one…and normally for Blueberry muffins you don’t need more than 100-150 grams. So then, what would I do with the remaining 500 grams of the filling, once the can was opened? I couldn’t possibly chuck it into the bin, can I?

Totally confused, I took the can in my hands and was just staring at it blankly like as if I was waiting for some divine intervention…..when my eyes lay upon the note : For recipes go to www.americangarden.us. Oh yea whatever.. was my 1st thought. What was the chance that I would find a recipe that used blueberry filling and would ask for ingredients that I had and then produce a dish or dessert that all at home would like! Absolutely no chance!!!  Anyway, I went to the site for the heck of it. And guess what? I found this BlueBerry Coffee Cake recipe there …. which I adapted slightly so as to use ingredients I already had and to suit my tastes. And boy was I glad I tried it :).

This cake is absolutely delicious with a good blueberry filling right at the center. The best part about the cake is that the cake has different layers, though you don’t actually divide them or plan it that way. The 1st layer is a golden brown, sugar sprinkled, sweet, crumble like texture where you can actually feel the bite, while 2nd layer is the beautiful, soft, gooey blueberry filling and the third is the soft, not too sweet, melt in your mouth cake. And b’cos the upper and lower part of the cake are so different, you can serve it even upside down. I personally preferred the upside down side because that color appealed to me. It had the look of a tiramisu with a nice crumbly sweet base.

You’ll see what I’m talking of from the pictures. Do try it out and let me know 🙂

My husband took some cake to his office to share it with his colleagues and they all loved it. Especially this British colleague couldn’t believe it was home-made and not store-bought. Now, that’s a compliment :).

BLUEBERRY CAKE
Serves: 15-20

Ingredients

  • American Garden ® Blueberry Pie Filling – 1  can (21 oz / 600 grams)
  • All-purpose flour – 2 cups
  • Sugar – 1 1/2 cups
  • Butter, softened – 1 cup ( 225 grams)
  • Eggs – 2
  • Yogurt – 1 cup
  • Vanilla Extract – 1 tablespoon
  • Baking Powder – 1 tablespoon
  • Salt – 1/2 teaspoon

For sprinkling on top of the cake before baking:

  • Sugar – 1/8 cup
  • Brown sugar, packed – 1/8 cup
  • Cinnamon, Ground – 1 teaspoon

Method

Pre-heat the oven to 200°C

In large bowl, beat the butter, sugar, eggs, yogurt and vanilla, using an electric beater.

In another bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder and salt.

Now mix both the bowls together and beat until well combined. Don’t forget to scrape the flour from the sides of the bowl.

Take a greased 9” x 13” pan and spread half of the batter onto the cake pan.

Top with the fruit filling and then pour in the remaining batter. Make sure that you carefully spread the batter on top of the filling because you don’t want the blueberry filling to mix with the batter. You want to see the layers.

Take a small bowl and mix in the white and brown sugar along with the cinnamon. Sprinkle it over the top of the final cake batter.

Bake it in the oven for 60 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. 

Let it cool and dig in. You could even serve it with a dollop of ice-cream or whipped cream.

Like I said earlier, you can serve it either top-up to get a beautiful golden sweet crunchy top and the soft cake at the bottom.

Or you could do a bottom-up of the cake, so that you get a crunchy base and soft cake on the top.  And if you wish you could sprinkle some powdered sugar on the brown top to get a better look!

Which one do you think looks better? Golden top or Brown top?  Let me know… 🙂

Enjoy either way!

This entry was posted in Baked Goodies, Cakes, Desserts and Sweets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Blueberry Coffee Cake

  1. looks amazingly tempting!!!wish i could find such basic stuff here!! 😦

  2. wow….
    looks soft and very tempting 🙂

  3. Jay says:

    I love how delicious n petty it looks…hats off dear..:)

  4. I am not a baker but I love how you made it – either brown top or white top….both look really fluffy and delicious!

  5. Biny Anoop says:

    It cudn’t have been better renee..looks and sounds amazing…the clicks are very temptg…never had blueberry and coffee 2 gether…must try

  6. Renée says:

    thankyou so much dears. this cake is surely a keeper for me. Perfect as a dessert or with your cup of coffee 🙂

  7. Stunning pictures, Incredible cake – LOVE THIS

  8. Hi Renee,my first time here in ur luvly blog of fantastic baking recipes.Cake luks yumm with awesome clicks.Luv ur blog and happy to follow U.

  9. Thanks Renee, Glad to know your are following – but I still don’t see you on my list 😦 please check your settings 🙂 and also let me know where you are from … thanks dear

  10. Kalyan says:

    Just mouthwatering…looks so easy to prepare and delicious!

  11. Renée says:

    Thankyou all for these lovely comments! 🙂

  12. Umm Mymoonah says:

    Love the texture of the cake, looks lovely.

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.

