Molten Lava Chocolate Cake

Confession: I’m addicted to Molten Lava Chocolate Cake (MLCC)!

Chili’s knew. So they looped me further into their sinful offers – Eat at Chili’s. Take your Bill no. and input it onto their website, be a part of their survey…and there you go ….25% off your next meal at Chili’s (T&C: you should avail it within a month).

So I go eat again at Chili’s, enjoy my 25% off, take my receipt, input onto their system, take the same old survey…and voila 25% off the next meal. (again same T&C exists). So before a month passes, I go again. Do you see the vicious cycle I was in??

My husband R hadn’t eaten a MLCC till I introduced him to it when we were at Chili’s, about 2 years back. I wasn’t able to resist the temptation when I saw it on the menu card or stop myself from saying it to the waitress taking our order. R immediately told me that I’m free to order it but he won’t even touch it and I would have to finish it all by myself. Sure. No complaints there!

Finally when dessert was served, me and my son were enjoying each spoonful, with R just watching us indulge. I forced him to take one spoon and to say the least, a new addict was born!  He looked up at me and asked…”how come you never told me such a dessert existed? How come you never ordered this before?” :-). Well, that’s cos I just assumed he wouldn’t like it because he’s not much of a chocolate fan. Mistake. Big mistake. Wasted years of not eating MLCC just on this one assumption that he’d not like it because it’s chocolate based. 

R prefers a grilled food platter to an Indian Curry or to an Italian Pizza or to a KFC. He loves steaks with mashed potatoes served with boiled veggies and stuff. So Chili’s was always a favourite dine-in place for him. Now, add to this his new-found love… the Molten Lava Chocolate cake…..with a 25% discount on each  meal…. it couldn’t get any better for him. As for me, I wasn’t there for the appetizers or the main course, but only for their MLCC. I would be gulping down my appetizers and main course just so that we could get to the best part asap…the dessert.

This MLCC thing soon became an addiction….that even after having a nice home cooked meal, or after having eaten out at some other restaurant, I would crave for an MLCC. And since the husband loved it too,  I didn’t have to put too much of an effort in convincing him. But you know how it is with us food bloggers….if you like something you wanna try making it at home. And so after i started my blog, and started baking and became more confident in it…. I decided I should try out an MLCC. It turned out fabulous. My husband R says it’s as good as Chili’s. And the plus point of making it at home, it that I don’t have to put in ice-cream in my son’s MLCC.  🙂 

MOLTEN LAVA CHOCOLATE CAKE

Ingredients

  • Dark chocolate – 100-115 gm (I used Lindt Classic Dark, Extra Fine -70% cocoa solid)
  • All-purpose Flour – 1/3 cup + for dusting the ramekins
  • Sugar, powdered – 1 cup + for garnish
  • Butter – 1/2 cup + to grease ramekins (115gm)
  • Egg yolks – 2
  • Eggs – 2
  • Sea salt –  a pinch (u can use regular too)
  • Vanilla extract – 1 teaspoon
  • Coffee powder – 1 teaspoon

Method

Preheat the oven to 200 C. Butter and flour the bottom and sides of 3-4 ramekins.

In a double boiler, melt chocolate. Once melted and shiny, remove pan from heat and add in butter. Mix until the butter melts fully. Set aside to cool. ( Or you could melt both together in the microwave, at 30 second intervals until smooth.)

In a mixing bowl, beat the eggs and sugar until light and fluffy for about 3 minutes using a hand mixer.

Add chocolate-butter mixture into the eggs. Now taste the batter to see if the sweetness is as per your preference. You can always add more sugar.

Add all-purpose flour and mix until well incorporated. Now add the coffee and vanilla essence, and salt.

Pour the mixture into your ramekins until 3/4th way full and bake in the pre-heated oven for about 15- 20 minutes. If you want more gooey or more melted chocolate inside, bake for a lesser time. If you want the chocolate inside to be more hard, then bake for a longer time.  But don’t keep it for more than 20 minutes because then you get a Chocolate Brownie in Ramekins and not a Molten Lava Chocolate Cake!! 🙂

Meanwhile, decorate your serving plates 🙂

 The cakes are done when the edges have set but the middle will still be soft. Run a knife around the edges of the ramekins to loosen the cakes and invert onto your serving plate.

Garnish with a little powdered icing sugar and strawberries on top. Serve immediately with ice-cream or whipped cream.

Remember if you want a really gooey centre like we did, it will start to sink as it cools because the centre is still liquid. In a thicker MLCC, you can afford to keep it out for longer. Do try this MLCC and I guarantee you, you won’t ever step out of the house to eat a MLCC ever again. With this MLCC, we’ve said good bye to Chili’s MLCC and its viscious offer cycle …though we dine there often for the main course. 😉

 ENJOY!!!!

This entry was posted in Baked Goodies, Cakes, Desserts and Sweets and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Molten Lava Chocolate Cake

  1. Reva says:

    Wow… lovely lovely dessert served beautifully:) I can’t take my eyes off that plate with MLCC … delicious..:)
    Reva

  2. Mallika says:

    I’ve had this page open all morning 🙂

  3. Biny Anoop says:

    dats perfect renee….its really artistic dear….love to see the lava flow out thru it

  4. Renée says:

    Thankyou so much. You all must try it. It’s really easy n ofcourse YUM!

  5. Vardhini says:

    Cake looks yummy. Has been on my list for awhile now :).
    Yes, you can use the blender to make the batter for vadai. You have to use just enough water for the blender blades to move and you need to grind it until smooth.

    Vardhini
    Event: Herbs and Flowers – Garlic

  6. aarthi says:

    looks absolutely delicous…havn’t tried the chili’s version…but i have tried this one long time back at home and i know how addictive it is. First time here…lovely blog, following you

    -Aarthi @munchmunchcrunchcrunch
    Event – HLI – Dates

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.

