Banana Muffins

Everytime we go to the food store, I buy all the main stuff like fish, meat, vegetables, spices, while the husband and the son go to the fruits corner. They’ll walk through aisles and counters of different types of fresh fruits, but what they ALWAYS return with in hand is Bananas! Everytime! And occasionally pineapples. Even when mangoes or pears are in season, they won’t pick it up because that’s my department. Not even apples.

I don’t have a problem as such with bananas but the thing is I prefer small bananas to the big ones because they are much sweeter and tastier. Actually, I rarely eat the big bananas. But since its not always easy to get good and fresh small bananas, my husband picks up big ones thinking I’ll make an exception this one time. Actually you do get good small bananas, but my husband (and even his sister) think that if a banana has even one spot on it, it’s rotten and need to be thrown into the bin. And most small bananas have a spot or two on it. And so once it starts to brown, they won’t touch it. Weird yea! So they both choose to eat the big bananas where getting a bright yellow skin is much easier.

And when he gets those beautiful skinned ones, he’s not able to stop himself from just picking a couple. He’ll buy a bunch. Which after a day or two start losing its color and gaining spots….soon it makes its way to the bin, leaving me feel awful because I wouldn’t have eaten even a single one! This time again 3 bananas were on the fruit bowl starting to spot and I knew I had to end this wastage. Googled around and finally decided to make Banana Muffins following the recipe at Joy of baking. The recipe asks for really ripe bananas so that it’s easy to mash them with a fork, and that’s exactly what I had.

These muffins were really the best banana muffins I’ve ever tasted…light, fluffy and so full of taste. Both my son and husband loved them, that it got over so soon. When my pre-schooler son came asking for more, he thought I was lying when I told him it’s over and so kept checking my oven to see if there’s more in there. Finally, when reality struck he started crying and asked me to bake more. And so I did. In the same week.. :)I shared some with my neighbours and they loved it too. Needless to say, I’m so happy never ever will a banana be thrown into the bin again.

Plus, the aroma that the muffins emit when it’s baking in the oven, is just divine. Warning: You’ll just want to grab a muffin and pop it straight into your mouth, though it’s piping hot. Please don’t do that! 🙂

I got the recipe from here, which I minimally adapted.

BANANA MUFFINS

Ingredients

  • 1 3/4 cups (225 grams) all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup (100 grams) white granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup (55 grams) light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup walnuts /cashewnuts
  • 3 large ripe bananas, mashed well (about 300 grams)
  • 1/2 cup (113 grams) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C) and place the oven rack in the middle of the oven. Line a 12 – 1/2 cup muffin pan with paper liners or butter or spray with a non stick spray.

Place the nuts on a baking sheet and bake for about 8 to 10 minutes or until lightly toasted. Let cool and then chop coarsely. 

Meanwhile,  heat a small pan and melt the butter. Keep it aside for it to cool.

Then, take a bowl and using the back of your fork, mash the bananas. It’s easy if the bananas are really ripe. To this add the cooled butter, eggs, and vanilla.

Then, in a large bowl combine the flour, sugars, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nuts.

With a rubber spatula or wooden spoon, lightly fold the wet ingredients (banana mixture) into the dry ingredients just until combined and the batter is thick and chunky. (The important thing is not to over mix the batter or it will yield tough, rubbery bread.) Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin tins.

Bake for about 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Place on a wire rack to cool for five minutes and then remove muffins from pan. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Enjoy!!

This entry was posted in Baked Goodies, Cupcakes and Muffins and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Banana Muffins

  1. Reva says:

    Muffins looks delicious… U have given the humble banana a new lease of life:) I can almost taste them..
    Reva

  2. Renée says:

    thankyou ladies 🙂 you must try these…the kids will lovve them!

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.

