Cabbage Thoran

Cabbage Thoran or stir fry is a signature Kerala dish. It’s served for lunch as a side dish / accompaniment and is a sure thing even for Sadyas. This delicious thoran is super easy to make, the beautiful yellow color makes it really beautiful to look at and ofcourse it’s rich in nutrients and antioxidants.  My little niece loves Cabbage Thoran so much that she needs it for lunch. Daily. And since it’s so good and easy to make…why say no?

I remember when I was working, I would get back home at around 5 pm and would be darn hungry. Yea.. I was a workaholic so rarely would eat at work. So by the time I got back home, I would transform myself to a PIG…ready to eat anything. But like duh everyone’s done with their lunch and it was too early for dinner (around this part of the world most people don’t get back home from work till about 8 pm and dinner’s always like around 10). Plus, I would have only about 30 minutes on hand before I head out again for my evening classes. So I would raid the fridge like crazy just to get something quick to grab and will be all smiles when I see there’s some leftover cabbage thoran from lunch. Would grab a leftover chapathi, paratha, tortilla, puri or else even bread….stuff the cabbage in it and eat :). Fulfilling. Delicious. Bliss.

CABBAGE THORAN

Ingredients

  • Cabbage – 1/2 of one large or one small, finely shredded. ( I quarter a large cabbage and use a sharp knife to slice them really fine. This you don’t get if you use a grater).
  • Onion – 1, chopped
  • Coconut – 1 cup grated
  • Green chillies – 2 (add more or less acc. to your desired spice level)
  • Mustard seeds – 1/2 teaspoon
  • Cumin powder – 1/4 teaspoon
  • Turmeric powder – 1/2 teaspoon
  • Oil – 1 tablespoon
  • Curry leaves – one sprig
  • Salt to taste

Method

Heat oil in a non-stick pan and splutter mustard seeds.

Add the chopped onions and saute for about 2 minutes. Add turmeric and cumin powder. Saute. Then add green chillies and curry leaves.

Now, add the sliced cabbage and cook it on low flame with the pan closed for 2-3 minutes.

Remove the lid, add the grated coconut and saute again for another couple of minutes.  Check salt level.

Your cabbage thoran is ready to eat. And it hardly took 10 minutes! 🙂

Note:

If you’re using a non-stick pan, there’s no need to add water because the steam released when the pan is closed, is enough to prevent it from scorching. This way the cabbage will retain some of its color, have a bite to it and wont be all mushy and soggy. Do not add water. At the max, just sprinkle some water, if needed.

You can even add some scrambled eggs to it and make a chapathi or tortilla wrap.

This entry was posted in Side dish, South Indian Dishes, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cabbage Thoran

  1. Biny Anoop says:

    Its so common in our houses….but yet ur presentation make me want it now…gr8 clicks…u have changed ur main pic i c….me too love it stuffed in chappathi..but usually ate it with rice….

  2. such a common thing in our homes!love ur pics.

  3. Joyti says:

    Great version of a classic. I like that your cabbage looks fresh and not overcooked…delicious.

  4. Yum! This looks delicious! I never had cabbage this way, and I love the seasonings you added for this dish. Coconut, cumin, turmeric…. all my favorite!

  5. kankana says:

    I like eating cabbage this way .. just drop in some frozen peas and yumm 🙂

  6. Biny Anoop says:

    Renee thx ketto …ethakya cake…cinnamon cake aayenne…ya i meant 1/2 tsp cinnamon..cheers dear:)

  7. santoshbangar says:

    texture and color of veg is very appealing looks yumm
    1st time here happy to follow u and hope ur visit

  8. Renee says:

    thankyou so much all 🙂

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.

