Palak Paneer Matar Masala

Just realized I’ve got way too many pending recipes in my drafts and even more number of pictures taken and saved on my hard drive…hoping to make its way to the drafts of my blog space and then to the main page…someday. Soon.

The main problem lies in my talking too much. Every post I ramble and rant about this and that….finally get too tired or lazy or then get busy with other stuff which makes me just save the post to the draft, never to see the light again. So I’ve decided that I’m going to talk less, and give you more mouth-watering recipes in the coming days.  Starting from today now!

And the recipe for today is Palak Paneer Matar masala (Cottage cheese and Peas cooked in a Spinach based gravy). Did you read the main ingredients there? Palak, Paneer and Matar…the stuff I really don’t care about. But this is dish is what my husband calls a “heavenly dish”. I remember the 1st time I made this, R was away at work. When he got home for the lunch break, I blindfolded him and took him to the kitchen and made him open his eyes to the “greens”. Yea…he gets super excited seeing this. Almost like a kid.

Anyway, I liked what I made too and I’m sure like me, even if you’re not a fan of these…you will still lick your fingers clean because its’ really good. Never thought I would say I like Palak Paneer…I’ve mentioned this in so many places of the blog, like here. But this is good. Really good. And this is how you make it.

PALAK PANEER MATAR MASALA

Ingredients

  • Palak – 2 bunches
  • Paneer – 100 grams
  • Peas – 1/2 cup
  • Onion – 2, chopped
  • Tomato – 1/2, chopped
  • Green Chillies – 2
  • Garlic – 2 cloves, minced
  • Chili powder – 1/2 teaspoon
  • Garam masala – 1/2 teaspoon
  • Tumeric -1/4 teaspoon
  • Cumin seeds – 1/2 teaspoon
  • Lemon Juice – 1 tablespoon
  • Fresh Cream – 2 tablespoon
  • Oil
  • Water
  • Salt

Method

Boil peas in slightly salted water for about 5 minutes or till cooked. Drain the peas and keep aside.

Remove stems from the spinach and wash thoroughly in running water. Blanch in salted boiling water for two minutes (you can use the same water you boiled the peas in). Transfer the palak into  ice-cold water to retain the green color (this process is called Blanching.) Squeeze out excess water and roughly chop.

Meanwhile, heat 2 tablespoons of oil in a pan and lightly fry the paneer pieces till they turn golden. Drain and keep aside.

Now to the same pan, add cumin seeds, chopped onion and garlic and saute till the onions turn translucent.  Add green chillies and tomato and stir till the tomatoes get mushy. Then add the spices – chilli, tumeric and garam masala powders. Saute again for a couple of minutes.

Add in the chopped palak to the onion spice mixture and stir till all of the palak wilts. Switch off flame and let this mixture cool. Once cooled, put this mixture into a blender with a little water and blend it well.

Transfer the spinach puree back to  the pan and let it come to a boil. When it does, toss in the paneer and let it simmer for 5 minutes. Add water and salt if needed.

Then add in the cooked green peas. Simmer for a minute more and add fresh lemon juice. Stir. Turn off the heat.

Add fresh cream. Serve hot.

Cheers!

This entry was posted in North Indian Dishes, Recipes, Side dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Palak Paneer Matar Masala

  1. Biny Anoop says:

    Renee thats in between palak paneer and mattar paneer….i know ur love for peas…dish looks truly yummy …great one dear

  2. Reva says:

    I haven’t tried this version … looks yummy though:) The green colour of the curry is very vibrant… makes a warming dish for dinner time:).. thanks for sharing.
    Reva

  3. princy says:

    i never thought of adding peas to it.i will now maybe.some combinations are untouched and untasted unless some blogers wrie them maybe 🙂

  4. Renee says:

    Thankyou all. Do try it…and let me know 🙂

  5. Hi Renee! Haha it’s your space here and you should enjoy talking! We listen to you! 🙂 I have a lot of draft too, then a few months later, I decided my pictures are not good enough…and I re-cook and re-take the final pictures and make it into a new post. I feel like I’m doing double work…but if you keep the pictures for too long, I know I won’t be happy later on. Do you have that problem? I should just post them. =P This dish looks new to me, but it must taste really good! I love garam masala.

  6. kankana says:

    That was funny 🙂 well you should feel happy to know that you have recipes in draft .. that way you can relax more. And this is your blog .. say what you want to.
    Palak paneer is one of our fav too and we had that for lunch today. Looks delicious and healthy .

  7. Amazing. Thanks a lot for sharing.

  8. Sandhya says:

    I tried palak paneer for the first time and i tried your recipe. It turned out awesome! Thanks. My kiddos too ate it heartily

  9. jessy says:

    This recipe turned out super nice.. I used 200 gm paneer; rest as it is. Thanks for sharing.

    • Renée says:

      Thankyou Jessy for trying the recipe, for following me and for your lovely comment. Glad you like it and hope you’d continue trying recipes from the blog.

  10. Veena Naik says:

    Thanks dear Renne,
    I tried out palak paneer mattar& it came out very well.. And simple receipt too..
    Thanks

  11. apurwa Choudhary says:

    Easy and best recipe

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.

