Pineapple Upside-down Cake

First of all, a BIG Thankyou to all who followed me to this new blog from here. I know my move was kinda irritating for all of you. But believe me when I say, I’m truly sorry.

Actually, I was thinking of moving to Blogspot (Blogger) for quite some time. Why? Only because there are so many widget options there, that WordPress doesn’t support. So I created Renee’s Recipe over there and exported all my files from my previous blog . The migration was going pretty well till I hit a major road block. Like many of you already know, WordPress gives you the option of both Tags and Categories. As in it lets you have 100’s of tags (flour, eggs, sugar, baking,…) for each post and then put them in a specific category (Cakes).  While, Blogger/Blogspot only has Labels, and that can’t exceed more than 200!

And so when I migrated to Blogspot, all my tags and categories got converted to Labels and as luck could have it….yea u guessed it…there were more than 200! So what’s the next option? Duh… Edit each post and remove the unwanted labels. Easy yea? But then again…blogspot gave up on me. It wouldn’t let me save the edited blog because it said “you have more than 200 labels”.  What I couldn’t understand was…how do I reduce the labels if you don’t let me save my edited  post with reduced label???

Anyway, here I am back to WordPress but with a new name. Also I like how easy it is to edit posts on wordpress than blogger. 🙂

Now getting on with today’s post. I thought let’s start this new blog site with a dessert. Everyone loves dessert. And Cake is a hands down favorite! This cake is in honor of all you wonderful people who’ve encouraged and supported me from day 1 of my blogging and hope to have you by my side as I posts more delicious recipes!

So today’s dessert is a very good Pineapple upside down Cake, the recipe I got from my SIL-L’s mom. I had this cake when we were at her place sometime back and I loved how soft and moist the cake was. Immediately I asked for the recipe, tried it out myself, came out really delicious and so now sharing it with all of you. Initially I was a little skeptical about pouring in the sugar syrup onto the base of the cake tray and then topping it with the batter. But then I just followed instructions to the T and it turned out perfect!

So this what you need and what you need to do!

PINEAPPLE UPSIDE-DOWN CAKE

Ingredients 

  • Pineapple slices – 1 can (about 6 preferably sweet)
  • Butter – 200 grams, softened
  • Brown Sugar – 120 grams
  • Eggs – 2
  • Self Raising Flour -1 cup  ( OR sieve together 1 cup all-purpose flour + 1 1/2 tsp baking powder +1/4 tsp baking soda + 1/4 tsp salt)
  • Sugar – 1 cup
  • Vanilla Essence – 2 tablespoon
  • Milk – ½ cup


Method

Preheat the oven to 180°C, 10 minutes before baking.

In a non-stick fry pan heat half the butter i.e. 100 grams on low heat. To this melted butter, add the brown sugar. Stir for a minute and then switch of the heat. Transfer the brown sugar onto the baking tray.

Now, place the pineapple slices on the brown sugar in a round pattern. (Note the slices should be drained of juice completely). Keep aside
 
In a bowl,  put the rest of the butter and the sugar and beat well using your hand mixer or electrical one, till it whips up well and the sugar is pretty much dissolved.

Now add the eggs one at a time and beat after every addition. Then add the vanilla essence and milk.

Finally add the sieved flour and beat till it’s all well incorporated with the butter-egg-sugar mix.

Pour batter into the prepared cake tray and bake at 180º C for about 45 minutes in the preheated oven. The cake’s ready when a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean.

Take the cake out from the oven, loosen sides of the cake using a knife and immediately turn onto a plate. You can put some cherries on it as garnish and complement it with whipped cream or even icecream…or just eat it as is!

Note:

  1. Do not allow Pineapple upside-down cake to cool before removing from the tin. The caramelized sugar hardens which will result in the cake sticking to the tin.
  2. The cake batter should be used for baking immediately after mixing the ingredients. If the batter is allowed to stand, it loses its lightness.

ENJOYYYY! 🙂

This entry was posted in Baked Goodies, Cakes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pineapple Upside-down Cake

  1. biny anoop says:

    I made it for xmas last year…..thx dear for the tips…cake is adipoli with the cherry toppings…nicely caramalised as well….looks amazing

  2. lindamv says:

    ennikke veshukunnu!!!!! mouth is watering thinking abt it. wish mom made a bigger cake! =(

  3. Wow looks so delicious! See…if I can bake this…half of this cake will be consumed by me, in probably one tea time! >_< Looks so delicious! How lucky to be your family. 😉

  4. veena says:

    I am going to try this Renee…

  5. veena says:

    made it today…super tasty! sharing it with my mother to try…

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.

