Chole Masala

Chole Masala1

I’ve not been blogging or even cooking for the past few days now. Why? Well…. Because I kinda sprained my neck and also got a muscle spasm on my back near the neck. Therefore am on some heavy medications that makes me fall off to sleep within 30 minutes where ever I am. Also, I’m supposed to stay off the laptop till I get better. 😦

On the first day of the medication, I was trying to prolong my sleep and squeeze in another 10 minutes before I hit the bed, so that I could get some more work done. I could feel my body giving into the medicines, but I decided to fight. Ha! I was walking towards the kitchen when I felt really drowsy and drugged. The next thing I know or hear is the voice of my husband asking me to wake up and was helping me walk towards the bed. Oh Yes, I fell asleep standing! Luckily in my semi-conscious state, I held on to the treadmill and used that as my support. Some use of the treadmill, I say. 😉

After that, I just don’t argue with my body. I just sleep. So that inevitably means I cook less, blog less and sleep more. 🙂

Chole Masala2

Anyway, I made chole masala (chickpeas curry) for dinner, couple of nights back. And just got the time to post it. Chole is basically white chickpeas or garbanzo beans. If you’re using fresh chickpeas, you need to soak them in water for a couple of hours or preferable overnight. They will swell up or increase in size. I use canned ones, because I can never plan in advance what I’m going to cook for the next day. I cook based on what I feel like eating that time. I take each dat at a time. So if you’re using canned ones like me, you must use them directly in your cooking. Also, I drain off the water in the can, because it’s something I always did….but I guess you can use it for cooking.

Here’s what you need to do :Chole Masala

CHOLE MASALA (Chickpeas Curry)

Ingredients

  • Chole – 300 grams
  • Onion – 3, chopped
  • Ginger garlic paste – 1 tablespoon
  • Turmeric powder – 1/4 teaspoon
  • Red chilli powder – 1 tablespoon
  • Coriander powder – 2 tablespoons
  • Garam masala- 1/2 teaspoon
  • Curry leaves – few
  • Coriander leaves – 1/2 cup, chopped
  • Oil, to sauté – 2-3 tablespoons
  • Salt, to taste
  • Teabag – 1
  • Water, as needed
  • Lemon juice – 1 tablespoon

Method

Soak the chickpeas for 5-6 hours or over night. Keep ready.

Heat oil in deep-bottomed saucepan, add the onions and saute till translucent.

Then, add in the ginger garlic paste, curry leaves and saute for a minute.

Next, add in all the masala/spice powders and mix well with the onions. Cook for a few minutes till the masala powders lose its raw smell.

Then add in the soaked chickpeas and saute well with the masala. Add about a cup or two of water along with salt and let it come to a boil. Throw in the tea bag once the water boils (The tea bag helps get the nice deep dark color for the chole masala).  Cover and cook till the chickpeas have softened but still has a slight bite to it. . Keep adding water to get the desired level of gravy or consistency.

Garnish with coriander leaves and sprinkle a little lemon juice before serving.

Serve this chole masala with raw sliced onions, to be eaten with chapathi, batura, roti or even puttu….

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Legumes and Pulses, North Indian Dishes, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chole Masala

  1. biny Anoop says:

    hey renee superb colour………..hope its better now..i know its bad do take care

  2. Karishma says:

    Hey Renee, noticed this post only today…I hope you’ve recovered from your neck and back sprain or are at least getting better! Take rest and take care! Hats off to you for still managing to blog and cook and take stunning pics! I love chole masala with poori or bhatura…always made it with the chole masala powder..will try it out your way next time!

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.

