Apple and Olive Oil Cake

Whenever I see beautiful fresh fruits in the fruit market, I think to myself… “yes it’s time to eat healthy, go healthy and stay healthy”. And what better fruit than apples, like the old adage goes ” an apple a day, keeps the doctor away.” So, I pick up apples, knowing all too well that apple is one fruit, that someone needs to cut and give in my hand for me to eat. And oh yea, not to forget, it needs to be cold. Oh, also they need to be red (not green or yellow). And yea, they need to be sweet, and not so sour or tart. OK fine, agreed… I’m not exactly an apple lover and can be really choosy when it comes to them.

I was just clearing up my fridge the other day, when I saw a packet of apples that I had bought weeks back. Oh yea, it lasted this long without losing it’s freshness or color. Don’t ask me how. I think because it was in the Vegetable compartment of the fridge and plus, I always poke small holes into all the plastic bags they wrap the fruits/vegetables in…so that air can circulate through it.

So now that I found these weeks old apples, I decided instead of serving them as is, I should make a dessert or snack out of it. Initially, I thought of an apple pear crumble, but then decided against it and went for a healthier option (or atleast I like to think of it that way) and made a cake using apples..

This Apple and Olive Oil cake is exceptionally good for many reasons – it’s perfect for the health conscious people because it has loads of apples in it, uses hardly any butter, calls for very less sugar and that too brown sugar, ….and the part that I like it the most for is …..wait for it…….:-) you don’t need your handheld electric beater or your stand-up mixer for this!! And that would mean less dishes to do, which is obviously a bliss for lazy me!

So what you need to make this cake that I adapted from here.

APPLE AND OLIVE OIL CAKE

 Ingredients

    • 200 grams all-purpose flour
    • 4 apples, peeled, cored and chopped
    • 1/2 cup light brown cane sugar + 3 tablespoons for the apples
    • 4 eggs
    • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
    • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
    • 2 teaspoons baking powder
    • 1/3 cup / 80 ml olive oil (What’s ideal is the ordinary olive oil…but since I ran out of it, I used extra virgin olive oil)
    • 1 small jar of apple sauce (you can even do without this but I feel it adds to the softness)
    • Pinch of salt

Method

Pre-heat the oven to 180°C.

In a frying pan, heat the butter on low heat. When it melts, add the apples with the 3 tablespoons sugar. Saute. Once the sugar also dissolves, add the vanilla essence and cook for about 10 minutes or until the apples get soft. Keep aside.

Meanwhile, butter/grease a 9′ inch baking pan and keep aside too.

In a bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and the pinch of salt, well

In another bowl, whisk the eggs. And then mix the sugar to it . Add the olive oil and the apple sauce (you could use the hand beater over here to beat it well).

Now, mix the flour to the egg-sugar mix. Stir it well. Slowly, fold the apples into the cake batter. Do not over beat it and do not use the electric beater or your apples could get bruised and minced 🙂

Transfer the batter to the baking tray and let it bake for about 1 hour or till a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Let the cake cool on a wire rack and then transfer to a serving platter. 

Your apple and olive cake is ready to eat. It’s perfect to have with your morning/afternoon tea. As a dessert, it’s really good too but since it’s not sweet as desserts are ideally meant to be, you can serve it with plain vanilla ice-cream or even whipped cream.

Enjoy!

Note to all those a little skeptical about the Olive oil: When I posted on Facebook, that I was baking an Apple and Olive Oil cake, many friends were surprised on the use of Olive oil. And many wondered if the flavours of the cake would be overpowered by the taste of Olive oil. But absolutely not! Like I mentioned, I used Extra Virgin Olive Oil and inspite of that still you couldn’t taste the olive oil. 🙂

This entry was posted in Baked Goodies, Cakes, Desserts and Sweets and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Apple and Olive Oil Cake

  1. sonia says:

    Wow, what a great combo and healthy too. Just perfect for the kids, will try it out on the weekend.

  2. biny Anoop says:

    wow renee thats awesome…..must taste wonderful

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.

