Jumbleberry Crumble

 
If you ask me who I think is the “Domestic Goddess extraordinaire”, only one name will come to my mind and on to my lips –  Nigella Lawson! And I don’t think many of you out there, would argue on that. She is amazing. Her elegance, confidence, and sexy attitude towards food is extremely addictive. When I’ve got the time, I even watch re-runs of her show, because she’s so vibrant and energetic and the positive vibe just passes on to you. She simplifies cooking. She makes it all look so simple and easy and most of all she gives precise instructions. 🙂
 
I’ve been wanting to make the Jumbleberry Crumble from her show Nigella Express, for a long time. And finally I did. It’s a really fantastic quick dessert, because you can make the crumble in advance, freeze it and pull it out whenever you like. It’s made even easier by using frozen berries and it really is just a quick assembly of ingredients and then into the oven.
 
The Jumbleberry Crumble is so delicious that it’s officially now our comfort food and the dessert that I plan to whip up for parties and when visiting friends. In fact, it’s so good and delish that I made it twice in the past week. The first was when I was experimenting it ( I had made only half of what the recipe called for) and then the second time, for my son’s 3rd birthday party ( I made the whole lot).
 
The 1st time I only used frozen berries – strawberries, raspberries and blueberries. While the second time, I even added some fresh blueberries and raspberries.
 
 
JUMBLEBERRY CRUMBLE
 
Ingredients
  • 200 grams plain flour
  • 100 grams unsalted butter, cold
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 6 tablespoons demerara sugar (each tablespoon is 15 ml. and you can use light brown sugar)
  • 600 grams mixed fresh or frozen berries, or other chopped fruit
  • 2 teaspoons cornflour
  • 4 heaped teaspoons vanilla sugar (I just used 4 teaspoons sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla essence)

Note: This recipe makes more crumble topping than you actually need for this amount of fruit, so stash the extra in a ziplock bag in the freezer.

Method

Preheat oven to 200 deg. C

Place the flour, baking powder and demerara sugar in a medium-sized bowl and stir to combine.  Cut the butter into small pieces, then rub it into the dry ingredients using your fingers, until crumbly like coarse sand.

Pour the frozen berries into the serving dish (I used a 9-inch round cake pan), and toss them with the cornflour and vanilla sugar (or sugar+vanilla essence).  Top with about two-thirds of the crumble mix (although you really could use as little or as much as you like), then bake for approximately 45 minutes, or until the berries are just starting to ooze juice and the topping is brown and crunchy.  You might need to turn the oven temperature up in the final 5 – 10 minutes to brown the top.

You can eat it as is or you can serve it with Cream, or with slightly melted ice-cream (that’s how me and my family likes it).

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Baked Goodies, Desserts and Sweets and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jumbleberry Crumble

  1. Karishma says:

    I think we must be soul-sisters or something like that when it comes to Nigella Lawson :-)…thanks for reminding me of this recipe! While I love watching her re-runs, now I’m waiting for some new episodes or shows from her! Great pics btw!

    • Renee says:

      oh i just saw this comment..some mess up at the blog notification end.
      Karishma, you need to try this. I’ve already made it thrice and it’s absolutely wonderful. My younger brother doesn’t like berries of any kind so I even tried it with apples and cranberries (a little) and that was good too. So I’m thinking you can just add what fruits you love and call it a crumble.

  2. Pingback: Apple and Pear Crumble | For the Purple Foodie…

  3. Pingback: Apple and Pear Crumble | Renee's Recipes

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.

