Coconut Chutney

So I was really tired of the standard lunch we have at home which always has rice served with some curry, vegetables and fish (most days). Alright, I’m not tired of it. This is what I’ve been eating all my life and I just love it. At my mother’s place, we ALWAYS have traditional south indian fish/prawn meals(rice, vegetables, curry and fish). Whereas dinner would be totally meat with chapathi, parotta or some other bread. But absolutely no rice or seafood. And that’s the tradition I’m carrying forward. I like my lunch totally Keralite and home-made, whereas for dinner I need meat and forever ready to try any cuisine – home-made or by dining out.

So anyways, today for the 1st time I felt like eating dosa for lunch (I know I know…it’s still rice and south indian too. But hey, it’s not rice in rice form 🙂 ). And since I had some Sambhar from the previous day, I decided to quickly whisk up some chutney.

And so I made 2 chutneys to go along with the crispy dosa and sambhar – Coconut Chutney and Tomato Chutney. The water level for the chutneys totally depends upon your taste and preference. I’ve put up pics of both the dry and gravy version of the coconut chutney. When I make dosas, I add a cup of water and blend all the above ingredients with water in a blender, so that the chutney is not dry. That’s only because we like the chutney gravy type with dosas and totally dry for idlis. So when I make idlis, I put the above ingredients into a grinder and grind it into a dry paste with no water. Basically, you add or don’t add water according to your taste.

COCONUT CHUTNEY

Ingredients

  • Coconut, grated – 1 cup
  • Green chillies , chopped – 2
  • Ginger, grated – 1 teaspoon
  • Chana dal (split bengal gram), roasted – 1 tablespoon
  • salt to taste
  • Water – 1 cup (or as needed)

For The Tempering

  • Mustard seeds – 1/2 teaspoon
  • Red chilli , broken – 1
  • Curry leaves – 1 sprig
  • Oil –  2 teaspoon

Method

Put the coconut, green chillies, ginger, roasted split gram and salt in a blender/grinder with the required water and grind to make a paste. Keep aside.

In a kadai or wok, prepare the tempering by heating the oil and adding the mustard seeds, red chilli and curry leaves and stirring till the mustard seeds crackle. 

Reduce the flame to low and add the coconut paste and stir for about a minute or two. Make sure, the coconut chutney doesn’t boil.

Serve with hot dosas !

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Chutneys and Dips, Side dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coconut Chutney

  1. Pingback: Tomato Chutney! | For the Purple Foodie…

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.

