Tuna Sandwich

Tuna Sandwich is a standard on almost every sandwich shop menu. It’s popular sandwich for picnics,  lunch boxes, evening snack and even for breakfast on a lazy weekend morning. It’s considered as one of the “cheap-eats”. Cheap or not, I don’t really know.

Many of my friends, colleagues and most of you out there, would be eating the tuna straight out of the can. I know there’s nothing wrong in it. But I just don’t. Can’t!. It could probably be because my mother always cooked the canned tuna and so do I. And for this reason, I never buy/eat ready-made tuna sandwiches from stores or the local deli. Because I know for sure, the tuna’s not been cooked again after opening the can and before spreading it onto the bread slice. So I avoid tuna sandwiches unless it’s home-made.

When buying tuna, it always helps to buy a high quality canned tuna. They are almost double the price of the regular canned tuna, but I personally would suggest choosing the former especially if you eat straight out of the can. Also, you need to do some taste-testing to find your favorite tuna. And whether you want tuna that’s packed in oil or water. I normally buy the ones packed in oil as I find them more flavourful and soft.  Eitherways, drain the water or the oil from the can by either pouring the entire mixture into a colander. Or open the can with a can opener, and then press the lid down on the tuna while tilting at an angle over the sink. I prefer the latter (the lid over the tuna) method because the colander gets really oily and smelly. Also, one less dish to wash!

Now there are two ways I make tuna sandwich. One with Mayo (for my brother) and one without (for the rest of the family).

TUNA SANDWICH

  • 2 cans of tuna packed in water/oil
  • 1 onion – chopped
  • 2 teaspoon chilli powder (feel free to add or reduce)
  • 1/4 teaspoon turmeric
  • 2 green chillies, finely chopped
  • 1 sprig curry leaves, finely chopped
  • 2 teaspoon oil ( you may need a little more oil if you’re using tuna packed in water)
  • Salt if needed
  • Mayonnaise, as needed

Method

In a non-stick pan, heat the oil. Add the chopped onions and saute  for 2 minutes.

To this, add chilli powder, turmeric and saute again. Now add green chillies and curry leaves.

And then add the tuna. Use the back of your ladle or a fork to break down the pieces of the tuna. Check for salt.

Saute the entire mixture on medium flame for about 5 minutes……

For the Simple Tuna Sandwich – Put the needed amount of the tuna mixture onto a bread slice, cover it with another and toast it in a sandwich toaster till both sides are golden and crispy. Serve it with ketchup or a pickled green chilli 🙂

For the Tuna Salad with Mayonnaise – Mix the prepared tuna mixture with a little mayonnaise. Pop the bread in the toaster and toast to your liking. Layer the bread with lettuce, tomato and then with tuna mayo mix. (You can put even jalapenos or celery and a little ketchup too. The choice of filling is yours). And cover it with the other toasted slice of bread and your yummy tuna sandwich is ready!

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Breakfast, Seafood Recipes, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tuna Sandwich

  1. Karishma says:

    Nice. I usually make tuna or luncheon meat just like this, to go with rotis.

    • Renee says:

      Oh how I wish I could make this sandwich and call it lunch.. Makes life so simple. But then my son he is soooo naadan (keralite), when it comes to lunch. That if I give him a sandwich n say this is for lunch….earlier he used to give me this “don’t-you-fool-me” stare, and now that he can talk, he says “this is no lunch!” 😦

  2. princy says:

    oh yea u wish u cud call sandwiches lunch….esp with a southie hubby at home 🙂 im ditto too in this case 🙂 hubby calls for rice curry kootu n yougurt…rasam is always welcome..i make the same not with tuna with chicken 🙂

    • Renee says:

      temme about it. My issue is more the son! He needs rice for lunch. My mom makes with chicken too. Let the lent get over and i’ll try with chicken 🙂

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.

