Chocolate Biscuit Pudding

I love to experiment in cooking. I guess, that why I have a blog now. But I always need more than 2 opinions in whatever I make. One is mine, always (like duh!). And the other, can be anyone…husband, son, mother, friend, neighbour, stranger walking by….anyone, but someone for sure!! The 2nd opinion is the determining factor to whether I’ll ever make that dish again. And since it’s not always easy to find a neighbour willing to experiment or a passerby brave enough to eat from a stranger’s kitchen… I’ve got designated guinea pigs. Who else? But my husband and son. 🙂 They are perfect. Ever willing to try out anything and everything.

But alas, like they say there’s no such thing as perfect. Here too that’s the case. Both of them are not too much into desserts. Or let’s put it this way. Even if they think a particular dish is fabulous, it will still take them more than 2 days to finish it off.  They like sweets at the most minimal quantity ever possible. Personally, I love desserts but can’t have too much of it, either. Therefore, I am not able to experiment with sweets as much as I would love to.

 

But like they say: when God closes the door, someone opens the window. LOL! Well, that’s true here too, but in a funny manner. Having a lot of cousins especially some much older than me and the husband, means their kids are in the age group of 8-15. That’s the age where they love sweets, desserts, chocolates and are not at all figure conscious and will eat anything that can be categorised under delicious but fattening. 🙂 (You may ask what’s the point of the door n the window… Well when the husband and son closes the door to sweets, the kids in the family are willing to take whatever I make through the window :-p)

And that’s when last evening, the cousins’ kids called to say they were going to drop by within an hour .. And since I wanted to make use of this opportunity of experimenting a dessert, I started to think of a perfect chocolate-y dessert (I mean which kid doesn’t like chocolate?!), but that which could be whipped up in a matter of minutes. The basic funda or idea is similar to my previous Pineapple pudding, but this time it’s got loads of chocolate.

Chocolate Biscuit Pudding

Ingredients

  • Any Chocolate Biscuit – about 20 Pieces cut into bite size pieces ( I had chocolate digestive biscuits so cut those  up)
  • ‘Dream whip’ whipping powder – 3 packets (whip up the cream using 1/2 cup milk and 5 tablespoons Icing sugar. Or you could just use any thick whipped cream)
  • Cocoa powder – 3 teaspoons
  • Butter Bread – 5 slices, sides cut off and cubed (you can use normal bread also)
  • Butter – as required

For garnish

  • Crushed or powdered Biscuit
  • Chopped pistachio
  • Roasted n Chopped Cashewnuts

Method

In a pan, melt butter. Roast the bread and biscuit for a while (since I used chocolate digestive biscuits, I didn’t roast them, or else the chocolate would melt off the biscuit). Keep it aside.

Meanwhile, beat the dream whip, milk and icing sugar till soft and thick (if you are using ready-made whipped cream then move on to the next step :-p)

In a pudding dish, layer half of the roasted biscuits and bread (Ideally it would be good to have the biscuit n bread mixed around so that you get both in every serving).

Then pour half of the cream mix on top – spread evenly.
 
Layer the balance roasted bread /biscuit bread on top of this.

In the remaining cream add cocoa powder and beat again. Spread over the second biscuit layer.

Garnish with Crushed or powdered biscuit, chopped pistachio and cashewnuts.

That’s about it! That’s all the cooking/preparation there’s to it. You can eat it as is but it tastes better when it’s refrigerated for atleast an hour or two and the BEST when its refrigerated for longer like about 5-6 hours or even overnight. 

The kids loved it and went for seconds, leaving only my share behind. And since I wasn’t in the mood for sweets last night, I had it today afternoon and it was much more delicious. So Chill it for some time for better results 🙂

Cheers!

This entry was posted in Desserts and Sweets and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chocolate Biscuit Pudding

  1. latha says:

    yummy……….

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.

