Chocolate Chip Muffins

 

I’ve always been skeptical about baking. My friends would rave about cakes n muffins/cupcakes they baked and I would wonder if ever would a day come when I would be able to gather courage and try my hand at baking. When I used to tell family of my fear for cooking, everyone would be surprised. Because my mother used to bake really well. Christmas and Birthdays in my house meant delicious cakes baked my mom. She used to even bake cakes for Christmas and New Year to give to the Church and everyone would be singing praises about how perfect is was…better than store-bought.

And here I was, all scared to even open the oven (I was always scared because I didn’t know what I would find inside it).  Finally I mustered all the guts needed and entered the field of baking with a very simple recipe given to me by a friend. She suggested I start off with this because I didn’t even need a cake beater/mixer or even a whisk for this. 

The 1st time I tried this recipe, it was a success. Not look wise because I poured a little more batter than needed into each cupcake filler, forgetting cakes rise when put in the oven. But my favourite 2 guinea pigs…my husband and toddler son, who didn’t care about looks, loved it !

 The next time round I was successful…looks and taste…perfect!!  And now I’m even called over by relatives to bake them muffins for their kids and grand kids. What an honor?!

So here’s a really simple recipe for all you 1st timers….

CHOCOLATE CHIP MUFFINS

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup milk + 2 tablespoon curds beaten (OR just 1 Cup milk)
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1 n 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 2 3/4 cup chocolate chips

Topping

1 tablespoon brown sugar + 1 tablespoon white sugar

Method

Heat oven to 400F/205C. Line muffin tin with baking cups.

Combine the dry ingredients in a bowl mix well.

Combine the wet ingredients in another bowl.

Pour the wet mix into the dry mix and combine them all well.

Fill the cups upto 2/3rd and sprinkle top with a mixture of brown n white sugar.

Bake for 20-35 mins or till skewer comes clean.

Note : If you are not doing the topping, then increase the sugar to 1 cup instead of 3/4th. Also, I pour the batter into the muffin fillers and then drop couple of chocolate chip into each muffin tin (This lets me keep a control on the amount of chocolate chips that goes into each muffin). After that, I drizzle the topping of brown n white sugar mix.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Baked Goodies, Cupcakes and Muffins, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.

