Chocolate Brownies

Chocbrownie3

My little one loves brownies.

Did I say little one?

Let me rephrase that.

My not-so-little-one-but-still-little-for-me, and who is now the older one loves brownies.

Chocbrownie5

While the actual little one…my 2nd one who is going to turn 2 soon….tasted brownies for the 1st time…and he couldn’t be least bothered about it. Atleast not until his father and his older brother got busy indulging and stuffing themselves with these yummy dense chocolate goodness topped with icecream and chocolate sauce… then he wanted some too! Because we don’t like being left behind.

Chocbrownie7

My not so little older one has been asking me to bake brownies for long. And I for many reasons, kept stalling it.

He has this new thing. Every day when he comes back from school, he’ll give me a surprise (which most of the days might not be a surprise for me, it’s something I expect of him…like finish his snack box) and I in turn have to surprise him…and the surprise he’s waiting to hear but rarely does, is for me to say….Surprise, we’re having noodles for lunch..no chapathi, no rice…but noodles!! HA!

Anyway, I decided to surprise him with brownies today. He had one serving of plain brownie, then a 2nd with ice-cream and later after dinner he topped it with ice-cream and chocolate sauce.

Chocbrownie1

The recipe I followed has been minimally adapted from Joy of Baking. And like all her recipes, it’s perfect. I may have over baked it by a minute or 2 more…but still it was perfect!!

Chocbrownie2

Chocolate Brownies:

  • Dark Chocolate – 5 ounces / 150 grams, chopped ( I used Lindt 70% cocoa)
  • Unsalted butter – 1/2 cup / 1 stick / 115 grams
  • Cocoa powder – 2 tablespoons / 15 grams
  • Sugar – 1 cup / 200 grams
  • Vanilla extract – 1 teaspoon
  • Eggs – 3 large
  • All purpose flour – 3/4 cup / 95 grams
  • Salt – 1/4 teaspoon
  • Semi-sweet chocolate chips – 3/4 cup (optional)

Brownies: Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C) and place the rack in the center of the oven. Butter (or spray with a nonstick cooking spray) an 8 inch (20 cm) square pan, and line the bottom of the pan with parchment or wax paper.

Melt the chocolate and butter in a large stainless steel bowl placed over a saucepan of simmering water. Remove from heat and stir in thesugar . Next, whisk in the vanilla extract and eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.

Sift the flour, salt and cocoa powder. Stir or fold these in along with chocolate chips (if using).

Pour into the prepared pan and bake for about 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with a little batter and a few moist clumps clinging to it. Do not over bake. Remove from oven and let cool on a wire rack. Serve at room temperature or chilled. These freeze very well.

Makes 16 brownies.

Chocbrownie4

Top it with icecream, chocolate sauce and some walnuts toasted and you’ve got a sinful indulgence!Chocbrownie

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Baked Goodies, Cakes, Desserts and Sweets. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate Brownies

  1. Biny Anoop says:

    wow love the brownies………..nicely done…ur son is cute…he is loving it

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.

