Kerala Style Beef Fry

Beef Fry2

If and when I make beef, this is the ONLY recipe I follow.  This recipe is my mothers and like every other recipe of hers, it’s foolproof. And every time, I serve it to someone, they invariably end up asking for the recipe. I made this beef when my IL’s were here last fall and needless to say, they loved it too. My MIL actually even asked me for the recipe. :-) That sure success it is.

My brothers, my husband and even my very choosy 5 year old son loves it. They can finish it in one go! My son calls it the “beef with the leaf” dish. Because you add a lot of curry leaves which adds to the taste. Common thing between my son and my brothers is that they like this beef really crispy, very dry and with loads of onions. (That’s proof my older one has gone totally on my side of the family in his eating habits. And it’s going to be a living hell for me. They are very choosy, very sure of what they want n how it should be served…n will not eat leftovers!!) My husband and his family are very adjusting…as long as it’s meat and it’s tasty..be it in whatever form, they won’t mind. However, I don’t prefer it totally dry….as in I need no gravy but each piece should have some of the masala coating.

Beef Fry3The advantage with this beef recipe is you can have different styles of beef with this one recipe. This is my secret…. I pressure cook 2 kilos beef and normally there will be a lot of gravy. Dish 1 -  I take some beef and all of that gravy and store it to be served as a side with rice. Dish 2 -  I then go about with the next step of sautéing onions in a saucepan and add all of the remaining beef. Once, it’s dry to my level of satisfaction i.e. where the beef is still soft and moist and masaley-daar ..I keep some aside for me and the husband to eat with chapathi for dinner. Dish 3 – I then continue frying some more till it’s crispy n dry and serve that to my son and brother (if he’s joining us).

You need to try it and you’ll be happy you’ve got a delicious beef recipe for yourself.

Beef Fry

KERALA STYLE BEEF FRY

Ingredients

  • Beef, cubes – 1 kg (I use bobby veal)
  • Pearl Onions/Shallots – 15-20 (when i’m really lazy, I substitute half of these with 1 large onion chopped)
  • Ginger-garlic paste – 1 tablespoon
  • Turmeric – 1/2 teaspoon
  • Kashmiri Chilli Powder – 1 tablespoon
  • Corriander Powder – 2 tablespoons
  • Garam Masala – 1/2 teaspoon
  • Curry leaves – 7-8
  • Oil – 1/4 cup

For Stir fry

  • Onion – 2 sliced
  • Tomato – 1 sliced
  • Green chilies – 3-4 split
  • Curry leaves – lots like about 15-20
  • Oil – 1/4cup

Method

Wash and clean the beef cubes and keep aside.

Heat the oil in a pressure cooker, add the sliced or halved pearl onions and sauté for a few minutes.

To this add the ginger garlic paste. Saute till the raw smell is gone and then add curry leaves.

Add the spices – turmeric, chilli powder, coriander and garam masala. Saute again very well…make sure the spices don’t get burnt.

To this add the cleaned beef cubes, salt and stir.

Pressure cook without adding water (as the beef contains a lot of water) for 3 whistles on high, then reduce the flame to lowest and cook for 15 minutes. Once, the pressure has been released, open the cooker and your Dish 1 – Beef Curry is ready. Keep aside the gravy and some beef if u need. Else, increase the flame and cook it on high till all water has evaporated..

Meanwhile, heat oil in a frying pan, add the sliced onions and sauté it for a minute. Add the curry leaves, and the beef and cook it on medium flame. Don’t keep stirring it, else the beef will start shredding and it’ll be all mushy. Let it cook on each side for about 3-4 minutes and then when you want to turn sides, place the spatula underneath the beef and turn it over like how you do for an omelet. Once the beef is almost getting crispy, add the sliced tomatoes and the green chillies. Cook the beef till you achieve your desired level.

I switch it off as soon as the beef changes color but there’s still a coat of masala on it (like the pictures). My mother when she cooks for my brothers, makes it totally dry …a stage where there’s absolutely no gravy and even the tomatoes would have got all mushed up and cooked with the beef. But to get it that level of dry n crispy you need to keep adding oil. It tastes really amazing that way for sure, but not good for the calorie conscious people. :-)

Sprinkle a few drops of lemon juice especially if you’re opting for the completely dry version.

Beef Fry1

Believe me, this is a must try recipe!

P.S. We normally don’t eat tomatoes but in this dish, we fight for the wilted ones :)

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Beef Recipes, Recipes, Side dish, South Indian Dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kerala Style Beef Fry

  1. Biny says:

    wow…very temptg…lovely…thx for sharg

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.

