Butter Mutton

Butter Mutton1

Hello! Greetings!

I know it’s been ages since I’ve posted a recipe here. And even longer since I’ve visited and commented on many of the blogs I follow. Well, there are 2 reasons for that. Reason 1 – is because I don’t even get a minute to spare with a baby in hand.  Now that he’s crawling, standing and even climbing onto low furniture, all my time is spent behind him. When he’s sleeping, I’m either trying to cook, bathe, do the dishes or something. And oh yea, along with that I’m addicted to Masala TV -  it’s a Pakistani cooking channel which airs live cooking… each show is 1.5 hours live…3 out of the 5-6 daily live shows, I watch n record!! Later, when I get a few minutes to myself, I replay the recorded video and jot down the recipe. And that was reason 2. The addiction is so bad that my older son n husband are really fed up!! One can’t watch his cartoon and the other his news. But thanks to the recording option, mostly I let them.

Now in between all the baby, TV and cooking (not in that order exactly), I just can’t seem to find time to get online to even check my emails, or FB (thank goodness for iPhone!). So blogging is out of the question.

Butter mutton3

Anyway, todays delicious recipe is one I tried from the channel….It’s from the cooking show called Dawat by Chef Zakir. This recipe is just amazing. Finger licking good! Follow the instructions step by step, do not use pressure cooker and you’ll see that the result will be a tasty gravy with meat that is so tender n juicy.

Off to the recipe

Butter mutton15

Ingredients For Butter Mutton:

  • Mutton - 1/2 kilo
  • Butter - 100 grams
  • Yogurt  250 grams
  • Ginger garlic paste – 2 tablespoons
  • Onion chopped - 2
  • Chili powder - 1 tablespoon
  • Turmeric – 1 teaspoon
  • Coriander powder – 1 tablespoon
  • Nutmeg mace powder - 1/2 teaspoon
  • Roasted n Crushed cumin seeds – 1 teaspoon
  • Crushed coriander seeds – 1 teaspoon
  • Kewra - 1 tablespoon
  • Salt to taste

Method:

  1. Melt the butter in a wok and add the chilli powder, roasted n crushed cumin seeds, crushed coriander seeds and turmeric. Sauté it for a while till the raw smell of the masala is gone and the color change to bright red.
  2. Then add ginger garlic paste and mutton and sauté on low flame till the meat color changes.
  3. Now add the chopped onions and sauté till they become translucent. Cover and cook for a few minutes
  4. Meanwhile, in a bowl whisk the yoghurt so that there are no lumps. Add coriander powder and nutmeg mace powder and whisk.
  5. Add the whisked yoghurt to the meat along with salt and little water. Cover and cook for another 25-30 minutes. Once meat is done, if there is lots of water, increase the flame and roast it because this is a thick gravy dish.
  6.  Add kewra water, mix and serve.
  7. Enjoy hot hot with tandoori roti, naan, chapathi or paratha

Butter mutton

Hoping to see you guys soon with another fabulous recipe :)

R!

Aside | This entry was posted in Mutton / Lamb Recipes, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Butter Mutton

  1. Biny says:

    Hi Renee,
    Busy mum….u know me too love Pakistani cooking…so flavourful and different.The recipe is very temptg and love the flavours.

Like the post? Leave me a note here and Thankyou for visiting.

